Saturday, January 23, 2021
Home Cheltenham Festival Hall of Fame Winning Most Cheltenham Festival Jockeys: Pat Taaffe

Winning Most Cheltenham Festival Jockeys: Pat Taaffe

Pat Taaffe died aged only 62 in 1993 but will be long remembered for his Cheltenham Festival success over fences in the 1960s. Pat won 25 festival races in all with a remarkable 22 of those wins coming in Steeplechases.

We have lots of video of Pat Taaffe in action on our Cheltenham Videos section. His most remembered win was probably the first of the legendary Arkle’s Gold Cup wins in 1964 where the pair saw off Mill House  :

Pat won another two Gold Cups on Arkle in 1965 and 1966, and added a fourth on Fort Leaney in 1968. He still holds the record for most wins the the RSA and Champion Chases with five in each. Taaffe was supplied with most of his winning horses by Tom Dreaper, amongst them three time festival winner Flying Bolt and dual winners Fortia and Ben Stack. Here are his 25 winners : 

RSA Chase1953ConeyburrowJoe Osbourne
County1953Teapot IIClem Magnier
Cathcart1954Royal ApproachTom Dreaper
Supreme Novices Div 11954StrollerVincent O’Brien
Festival Trophy1957SentinaTom Dreaper
RSA Chase1960SolfenWillie O’Grady
Champion Chase1960FortriaTom Dreaper
Arkle1961Mountcashel KingTom Dreaper
RSA Chase1961Grallagh CnocJoe Osbourne
Champion Chase1961FortriaTom Dreaper
Arkle1963Ben StackTom Dreaper
RSA Chase1963ArkleTom Dreaper
Champion Chase1964Ben StackTom Dreaper
Gold Cup1964ArkleTom Dreaper
Supreme Novices Div 11964FlyingboltTom Dreaper
Arkle1965FlyingboltTom Dreaper
Gold Cup1965ArkleTom Dreaper
Festival Trophy1966ArkloinTom Dreaper
Champion Chase1966FlyingboltTom Dreaper
Gold Cup1966ArkleTom Dreaper
Gold Cup1968Fort LeneyTom Dreaper
Cathcart1968MuirTom Dreaper
RSA Chase1970Proud TarquinTom Dreaper
Champion Chase1970Straight FortTom Dreaper
Cathcart1970GarrynagreeTom Dreaper


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Clarence House Chase 2021

The Grade 1 2 mile 1 furlong chase run at Ascot in January has a famous roll of honour and is a...

National Hunt Novices’ Chase 2021

National Hunt Novices’ Chase – Day One, Tuesday, 16 MarchThe G2 National Hunt Novices’ Chase takes place over three miles and six...

Arkle Novices’ Chase 2021

Sporting Life Arkle Novices’ Chase – Day One, Tuesday, 16 MarchThe G1 Sporting Life Arkle Novices’ Chase takes place over two miles...

Mares Hurdle 2021

The trio of Benie des Dieux (Willie Mullins), Roksana (Dan Skelton) and Honeysuckle (Henry de Bromhead), winners of the 2018, 2019 and...

Recent Comments