Saturday, January 23, 2021
Home Cheltenham Festival Hall of Fame Winning Most Cheltenham Festival Jockeys: Richard Dunwoody

Winning Most Cheltenham Festival Jockeys: Richard Dunwoody

Richard Dunwoody  had 18 Cheltenham Festival wins including a Champion Hurdle on Kribensis for Michael Stoute and and a Gold Cup on Charter Party for David Nicholson.

He won the Arkle on three occasions. Here he is winning the 1991 renewal on the Nicky Henderson trained Remittance Man:

Kribensis was actually a  two time winner for Dunwoody adding the Champion Hurdle in 1990 as a six year old having won the Triumph in 1988.

Here is a clip of Dunwoodys Champion Hurdle win:

and another of Charter Party’s Gold Cup success:

Dunwoody was Champion Jockey on three ocassions and rode 1699 British winners in his career. He had a rewarding association with the grey’s Desert Orchid and One Man,winning a pair of King George VI Chases in each. He also won 2 Grand National. The horse Richard Dunwoody first won on at the Cheltenham Festival, West Tip, went on to win the 1986 Aintree Grand National. He won the race for a second time on Minnehoma in 1994.

Here are Richard’s 18 Cheltenham Festival Wins.

Festival Trophy1985West TipMichael Oliver
Pertemps1985Von TrappeMichael Oliver
Grand Annual1987French UnionDavid Nicholson
Triumph1988KribensisMichael Stoute
Gold Cup1988Charter PartyDavid Nicholson
Arkle1989Waterloo BoyDavid Nicholson
Festival Trophy1990BigsunDavid Nicholson
Champion Hurdle1990KribensisMichael Stoute
Arkle1991Remittance ManNicky Henderson
Neptune1992Thetford ForestDavid Nicholson
Bumper1992MonteladoPat Flynn
County1993Thumbs UpNicky Henderson
Arkle1996Ventana CanyonEdward O’Grady
Triumph1996Paddy’s ReturnFerdy Murphy
RSA Chase1997HanakhamRon Hodges
Bumper1997Florida PearlWillie Mullins
County1997Barna BoyNicky Henderson
RSA Chase1998Florida PearlWillie Mullins


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Clarence House Chase 2021

The Grade 1 2 mile 1 furlong chase run at Ascot in January has a famous roll of honour and is a...

National Hunt Novices’ Chase 2021

National Hunt Novices’ Chase – Day One, Tuesday, 16 MarchThe G2 National Hunt Novices’ Chase takes place over three miles and six...

Arkle Novices’ Chase 2021

Sporting Life Arkle Novices’ Chase – Day One, Tuesday, 16 MarchThe G1 Sporting Life Arkle Novices’ Chase takes place over two miles...

Mares Hurdle 2021

The trio of Benie des Dieux (Willie Mullins), Roksana (Dan Skelton) and Honeysuckle (Henry de Bromhead), winners of the 2018, 2019 and...

Recent Comments