Friday, February 3, 2023
Home Cheltenham Festival Hall of Fame Cheltenham Festival Hall of Fame : Jockey Tony McCoy

Cheltenham Festival Hall of Fame : Jockey Tony McCoy

Tony McCoy rode 30 Cheltenham Festival winners – only Ruby Walsh and Barry Geraghty have ridden more. He has been leading rider at the 1997 and 1998 meetings. He was inducted to the official Cheltenham Hall of Fame on 18th November 2012.

Tony has won all of the feature races except the World Hurdle. He won the Gold Cup in 1997 on Mr Mulligan and in 2012 on Synchronised.  The Champion Hurdle has come his way on three occasions and with three different trainers (Make a Stand 1997, Martin Pipe, Brave Inca 2006, Colm Murphy, Binocular 2010 Nicky Henderson). He also has won the Arkle on three occasions – all on Martin Pipe trained horses.

In recent seasons Johnjo O’Neill has been Tony McCoy’s main source of winners with Albertas Run and Wichita Lineman having dual success. Albertas Run just missed out on a hat trick in the Ryanair Chase in 2012.

Here are AP McCoy’s 31 Cheltenham Festival winners to date.

Year Race Horse Trainer 
1996Grand AnnualKibreetPhilip Hobbs
1997ArkleOr RoyalMartin Pipe
1997Champion HurdleMake A StandMartin Pipe
1997Gold CupMr MulliganNoel Chance
1998ArkleChampleveMartin Pipe
1998PertempsUnsinkable BoxerMartin Pipe
1998CountyBlowing WindMartin Pipe
1998Grand AnnualEdredon BleuHenrietta Knight
1998CathcartCyfor MaltaMartin Pipe
1999Supreme NovicesHors La Loi IIIMartin Pipe
1999Mildmay of FleteMajadouMartin Pipe
2000Champion ChaseEdredon BleuHenrietta Knight
2002CathcartRoyal AuclairMartin Pipe
2003BumperLibermanMartin Pipe
2004ArkleWell ChiefMartin Pipe
2006Champion HurdleBrave IncaColm Murphy
2006CentenaryReveillezJames Fanshawe
2006Albert BartlettBlack Jack KetchumJonjo O’Neill
2007Albert BartlettWichita LinemanJonjo O’Neill
2008RSA ChaseAlbertas RunJonjo O’Neill
2009Festival TrophyWichita LinemanJonjo O’Neill
2010Champion HurdleBinocularNicky Henderson
2010RyanairAlbertas RunJonjo O’Neill
2011JewsonNoble PrincePaul Nolan
2011RyanairAlbertas RunJonjo O’Neill
 2012 County HurdleAlderwoodTom Mullins
2012Gold CupSynchronisedJonjo O’Neill 
2015RyanairUxizandreAlan King

 And below we have Tony winning his Gold Cup back in 1997


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Cheltenham 2022 – Thursday Preview

Cheltenham 2022 – Champion Chase Day

Cheltenham 2022 – Gold Cup Day

Cheltenham 2022 – Day 1 Fat Jockey Podcast - Day 1 - with  jono Spectre

Recent Comments