Sunday, October 24, 2021
Home Graded Races Kempton Christmas Hurdle

Kempton Christmas Hurdle

The Grade 1 Hurdle run at Kempton on boxing day should in theory be a pointer to the Champion Hurdle but until Buveur D’air completed the Christmas – Champion Hurdle double in 2017/18 only three winners had followed up at Cheltenham in the same season ( Lanzaraote , Dawn Run & Kribensis ). Prior to Buveur D’air the last double was in 1989-90 and for many punters winning this race was seen as a negative for Cheltenham. Epatante also completed the double last season so maybe that angle has now gone.

The race has been a J P McManus benefit in recent years with Epatante, Buveur d’Air, Yanworth, My Tent or Yours, Darlan and Binocular all winning in the last decade. Nicky Henderson has trained 7/10 winners including the last three. Nico De Bonville is the only jockey apart from the now retired big 3 of McCoy, Walsh and Geraghty to have ridden the winner in the last decade. Aidan Coleman will be hoping to add his name in 2020.

Silver Streak was a surprise winner in 2020

Christmas Hurdle Winners 2002-2020

2020Silver Streak
2019Epatante5Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson1502-1 JF1/P
2018Verdana Blue6Nico de BonvilleNicky Henderson15211-22
2017Buveur d’Air6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson1692-11F1
2016Yanworth6Barry GeraghtyAlan King1575-4F1
2015Faugheen7Ruby WalshWillie Mullins1711-4F1
2014Faugheen6Ruby WalshWillie Mullins1644-11F1
2013My Tent or Yours6Tony McCoyNicky Henderson16011-82
2012Darlan5Tony McCoyNicky Henderson1513-14
2011Binocular7Tony McCoyNicky Henderson1645-41
2010Binocular7Tony McCoyNicky Henderson17113-81
2009Go Native6Davy CondonNoel Meade1645-23
2008Harchibald9Paul CarberryNoel Meade1627-1F
2007Straw Bear6Tony McCoyNick Gifford1619-22
2006Jazz Messenger6Niall MaddenNoel Meade14010-14
2005Feathard Lady5Ruby WalshColm Murphy1376-41
2004Harchibald5Paul CarberryNoel Meade1458-111
2003Intersky Falcon6Liam CooperJonjo O’Neill16011-42
2002Intersky Falcon5Charlie SwanJonjo O’Neill162Evens1
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Winning Most Cheltenham Jockeys : Richard Johnson

Richard Johnson is the second winning most National Hunt Jockey of all time with 3,819 career wins. He announced his retirement on...

Minella Indo – Gold Cup 2021

Minella Indo’s victory in the WellChild Cheltenham Gold Cup etched Henry de Bromhead’s name into the history books, as the trainer became...

QUILIXIOS – Leg 3 of Faugheen Machine Multiple

His impressive performance also secured a fifth win of the 2021 Festival™ supporting WellChild for trainer Henry de Bromhead and a third...

Mrs Milner – Pertemps Winner 2021

Mrs Milner continued the tremendous week for mares at this year’s Festival™ supporting WellChild as she took the Grade Three Pertemps Network...

Recent Comments