Friday, February 3, 2023
Home Cheltenham Festival Hall of Fame Cheltenham Festival Hall of Fame : Jockey Ruby Walsh

Cheltenham Festival Hall of Fame : Jockey Ruby Walsh

Winning Most Cheltenham Festival Jockey

Ruby Walsh is the most successful Cheltenham Festival Jockey of all time.

In a pre Cheltenham 2012 Paddy Power vs Ruby Walsh video, the bookies PR man asked him ” Which race he had not won and would most like to at Cheltenham” ? Ruby didn’t know. Paddy quipped  ” Have you won them all ? “.  As it happens he hasn’t, but he has come close. The only Cheltenham Grade 1 race missing from his big race CV is the Albert Bartlett Novice Hurdle.

Cheltenham Festival Leading Rider

Until wrestled from him for one year by Barry Geraghty in 2012, Ruby has pretty much owned the leading rider award at the festival. He notched up an incredible seven winners at the 2009 meeting. Ruby’s  59 Wins have been provided by only four trainers. Willie Mullins and Paul Nicholls provided the bulk with Martin Pipe and Tony Martin chipping in with one each.

Ruby Walsh Cheltenham Festival Wins (59)

 This is his list of wins:

Bumper1998Alexander BanquetWillie Mullins
Mildmay of Flete2002Blowing WindMartin Pipe
Arkle2003AzertyuiopPaul Nicholls
Champion Chase2004AzertyuiopPaul Nicholls
County2004SporazenePaul Nicholls
Grand Annual2004St PirranPaul Nicholls
Bumper2005Missed ThatWillie Mullins
Ryanair2005ThisthatandtotherPaul Nicholls
County2006Desert QuestPaul Nicholls
JLT Specialty2006Dun DoireTony Martin
Supreme Novices2006NolandPaul Nicholls
Gold Cup2007Kauto StarPaul Nicholls
RSA Chase2007DenmanPaul Nicholls
Ryanair2007TaranisPaul Nicholls
Champion Chase2008Master MindedPaul Nicholls
Neptune2008FiveforthreeWillie Mullins
Triumph2008Celestial HaloPaul Nicholls
Champion Chase2009Master MindedPaul Nicholls
County2009American TrilogyPaul Nicholls
Gold Cup2009Kauto StarPaul Nicholls
Mares2009QuevegaWillie Mullins
Neptune2009Mikael d’HaguenetWillie Mullins
RSA Chase2009CooldineWillie Mullins
World Hurdle2009Big Buck’sPaul Nicholls
Fred Winter2010SanctuairePaul Nicholls
Mares2010QuevegaWillie Mullins
World Hurdle2010Big Buck’sPaul Nicholls
Champion Hurdle2011Hurricane FlyWillie Mullins
County2011Final ApproachWillie Mullins
Mares2011QuevegaWillie Mullins
Supreme Novices2011Al FerofPaul Nicholls
World Hurdle2011Big Buck’sPaul Nicholls
Mares2012QuevegaWillie Mullins
World Hurdle2012Big Buck’sPaul Nicholls
Champion Hurdle2013Hurricane FlyWillie Mullins
Mares2013QuevegaWillie Mullins
Bumper2013Briar HillWillie Mullins
Mares2014QuevegaWillie Mullins
Supreme2014VautourWillie Mullins
Neptune2014FaugheenWillie Mullins
Supreme 2015DouvanWillie Mulins
Arkle2015Un De SceauxWillie Mullins
Champion Hurdle2015FaugheenWillie Mullins
JLT2015VautourWillie Mullins
Arkle2016DouvanWillie Mullins
Champion Hurdle2016Annie PowerWillie Mullins
Mares2016Vroum Vroum MagWillie Mullins
Ballymore2016YorkhillWillie Mullins
JLT2016Black HerculesWillie Mullins
Ryanair2017VautourWillie Mullins
Mares Novice2017LiminiWillie Mullins
JLT2017YorkhillWillie Mullins
Ryanair2017Un De SceauxWillie Mullins
Arkle2018FootpadWillie Mullins
Mares2018Benie Des DieuxWillie Mullins
Supreme2019Klassical DreamWillie Mullins

 Ruby also became just the third National Hunt Jockey to ride 2000 winners in 2012.  

About Ruby Walsh

Born: May 14, 1979 Background: Ruby (short for Rupert) is now solely based in Ireland with champion trainer Willie Mullins, having ended his hugely successful 10 and a half year association with Paul Nicholls in May, 2013. He is the son of 11-times Irish amateur champion jockey, Ted Walsh, now a trainer. Ruby is the second of Walsh’s four children and his younger sister Katie is a successful amateur. He followed in his father’s footsteps when capturing the Irish amateur riders’ championship (1996-97) at the age of 19 while still studying for his Leaving Certificate. He was crowned champion Irish National Hunt jockey in his first season as a professional (1998/99) and has taken the title a further eight times (2000/2001, 2004/05, 2005/06, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2009/10 & 2013/14). First Winner: Siren Song, Gowran Park, July 25, 1995


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Cheltenham 2022 – Thursday Preview

Cheltenham 2022 – Champion Chase Day

Cheltenham 2022 – Gold Cup Day

Cheltenham 2022 – Day 1 Fat Jockey Podcast - Day 1 - with  jono Spectre

Recent Comments