Thursday, January 21, 2021
Home Graded Races Challow Novices'Hurdle 2020

Challow Novices’Hurdle 2020

The Challow Novices’ Hurdle run at Newbury between Christmas and the New Year was one of the best Grade 1 races in the calendar  for the Champion Jockey Tony McCoy and his six wins make him the most successful jockey in the race. The roll of honour includes Denman, Wichita Lineman, Reve De Sivola and more recently Champ and Thyme Hill. It is run over 2m 4 furlongs and winners have tended to need that trip later in their careers at a minimum.

 Previous Challow Hurdle Winners 2003-2019

2019Thyme Hill5Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs4-6F1471
2018Champ6Barry GeraghtyNicky HendersonEvens F1501
2017Poetic Rhythm6Paddy BrennanFergal O’Brien15-8F1471
2016Messire Des Obeaux4Daryl JacobAlan King100-30143F
2015Barters Hill5David BassBen Pauling4-11F1
2014Parlour James6Noel FehilyJohn Ferguson6-11453
2013Captain Cutter5Tony McCoyNicky Henderson8-11303
2012Taquin du Seuil5Tony McCoyJonjo O’Neill13-81371
2011Fingal Bay5Richard JohnsonPhilip Hobbs1-41491
2010Backspin5Tony McCoyJonjo O’Neill5-104
2009Reve de Sivola4Daryl JacobNick Williams15-81433
2008Diamond Harry5Timmy MurphyNick Williams4-61471
2007Souffleur4Tom O’BrienPeter Bowen7-11404
2006Wichita Lineman5Tony McCoyJonjo O’Neill11-402
2005Denman6Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls5-201
2004Brewster7David DennisIan Williams3-11372
2003Cornish Rebel6Ruby WalshPaul Nicholls5-201,6


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Clarence House Chase 2021

The Grade 1 2 mile 1 furlong chase run at Ascot in January has a famous roll of honour and is a...

National Hunt Novices’ Chase 2021

National Hunt Novices’ Chase – Day One, Tuesday, 16 MarchThe G2 National Hunt Novices’ Chase takes place over three miles and six...

Arkle Novices’ Chase 2021

Sporting Life Arkle Novices’ Chase – Day One, Tuesday, 16 MarchThe G1 Sporting Life Arkle Novices’ Chase takes place over two miles...

Mares Hurdle 2021

The trio of Benie des Dieux (Willie Mullins), Roksana (Dan Skelton) and Honeysuckle (Henry de Bromhead), winners of the 2018, 2019 and...

Recent Comments