Saturday, February 4, 2023
Home Cheltenham Festival Hall of Fame A-Z of Cheltenham 3+ time winning horses

A-Z of Cheltenham 3+ time winning horses

Cheltenham Festival Multiple Winners

Altior and Tiger Roll joined the list in 2018 and both became 4 time winners in 2019. There were no three time winning horses added in 2020.

Cause of Causes joined this select list in 2017. Sprinter Sacre ( much later than we expected ) and Vautour were the horses who graduated to the three time winner list in 2016.  Bobs Worth had been the only horse scheduled to run at the 2016 Festival who could have moved on to 4 wins and ran on to finish a very third in the World Hurdle.

Quevega 6 Time Cheltenham Festival Winner

Quevega became the first 6 time winner at the Cheltenham Festival in landing the 2014 OLBG Mares Hurdle.

4 Time Winners

In 2012 Big Bucks and Quevega joined a small group of 4 time winners. Only Arkle, Istrabraq, Sir Ken and Willie Wumpkins have previously achieved that feat since 1945. Persian War won the Champion Hurdle three times but that horses Triumph Hurdle win in 1967 came when that race was not run at the Festival but the Cheltenham April Meeting.

Also noteworthty from 2013 was Bobs Worth equaling the feat of Flyingbolt by winning three different Cheltenham Festival races in successive years.

Below we have our  listing of  three plus time Cheltenham Festival winning horses since 1945:

RSA Chase2008Albertas Run 7Tony McCoy Jonjo O’Neill
Ryanair2010Albertas Run 9Tony McCoy Jonjo O’Neill
Ryanair2011Albertas Run 10Tony McCoy Jonjo O’Neill
Supreme Novices2016Altior6N De BonvilleN J Henderson
Arkle Chase2017Altior7N de BonvilleN J Henderson
Champion Chase2018Altior8N De BonvilleN J Henderson
Champion Chase2019Altior9N De BonvilleN J Henderson
RSA Chase Div 21950Arctic Gold 5Glen Kelly Gerald Balding
Cathcart1953Arctic Gold 8Glen Kelly Gerald Balding
Kim Muir1954Arctic Gold 9Ted Greenway Gerald Balding
RSA Chase1963Arkle 6Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper
Gold Cup1964Arkle 7Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper 
Gold Cup1965Arkle 8Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper 
Gold Cup1966Arkle 9Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper 
Champion Chase1983Badsworth Boy 8Robert Earnshaw Michael Dickinson 
Champion Chase1984Badsworth Boy 9Robert Earnshaw Michael Dickinson 
Champion Chase1985Badsworth Boy 10Robert Earnshaw Monica Dickinson 
Gold Cup2002Best Mate 7Jim Culloty Henrietta Knight 
Gold Cup2003Best Mate 8Jim Culloty Henrietta Knight 
Gold Cup2004Best Mate 9Jim Culloty Henrietta Knight 
World Hurdle2009Big Buck’s 6Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 
World Hurdle2010Big Buck’s 7Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 
World Hurdle2011Big Buck’s 8Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 
World Hurdle2012Big Buck’s 9Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls 
Albert Bartlett2011Bobs Worth6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
RSA Chase2012Bobs Worth7Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
Gold Cup2013Bobs Worth8Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
Supreme Novices Div 21970Bula 5Paul Kelleway Fred Winter
Champion Hurdle1971Bula 6Paul Kelleway Fred Winter 
Champion Hurdle1972Bula 7Paul Kelleway Fred Winter 
Cross Country2017Cause of causes9Jamie CoddGordon Elliot
Kim Muir2016Cause of causes8Jamie CoddGordon Elliot
NH Chase2015Cause of causes7Jamie CoddGordon Elliot
Gold Cup1948Cottage Rake 9Aubrey Brabazon Vincent O’Brien 
Gold Cup1949Cottage Rake 10Aubrey Brabazon Vincent O’Brien 
Gold Cup1950Cottage Rake 11Aubrey Brabazon Vincent O’Brien 
Supreme Novices Div 11964Flyingbolt 5Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper
Arkle1965Flyingbolt 6Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper
Champion Chase1966Flyingbolt 7Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper 
Arkle1958Fortria 6Tom Taaffe Tom Dreaper
Champion Chase1960Fortria 8Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper 
Champion Chase1961Fortria 9Pat Taaffe Tom Dreaper 
Mildmay of Flete1984Half Free 8Richard Linley Fred Winter
Cathcart1986Half Free 10Simon Sherwood Fred Winter
Cathcart1987Half Free 11Peter Scudamore Fred Winter
Neptune2003Hardy Eustace 6Kieran Kelly Dessie Hughes
Champion Hurdle2004Hardy Eustace 7Conor O’Dwyer Dessie Hughes 
Champion Hurdle2005Hardy Eustace 8Conor O’Dwyer Dessie Hughes 
Champion Hurdle1949Hatton’s Grace 9Aubrey Brabazon Vincent O’Brien 
Champion Hurdle1950Hatton’s Grace 10Aubrey Brabazon Vincent O’Brien 
Champion Hurdle1951Hatton’s Grace 11Tim Molony Vincent O’Brien 
World Hurdle2005Inglis Drever 6Graham Lee Howard Johnson 
World Hurdle2007Inglis Drever 8Paddy Brennan Howard Johnson 
World Hurdle2008Inglis Drever 9Denis O’Regan Howard Johnson 
Neptune1997Istabraq 5Charlie Swan Aidan O’Brien
Champion Hurdle1998Istabraq 6Charlie Swan Aidan O’Brien 
Champion Hurdle1999Istabraq 7Charlie Swan Aidan O’Brien 
Champion Hurdle2000Istabraq 8Charlie Swan Aidan O’Brien 
Supreme Novices Div 21968L’Escargot 5Tommy Carberry Dan Moore
Gold Cup1970L’Escargot 7Tommy Carberry Dan Moore 
Gold Cup1971L’Escargot 8Tommy Carberry Dan Moore 
Arkle2002Moscow Flyer 8Barry Geraghty Jessica Harrington
Champion Chase2003Moscow Flyer 9Barry Geraghty Jessica Harrington 
Champion Chase2005Moscow Flyer 11Barry Geraghty Jessica Harrington 
Grand Annual1986Pearlyman 7Graham Bradley John Edwards
Champion Chase1987Pearlyman 8Peter Scudamore John Edwards 
Champion Chase1988Pearlyman 9Tom Morgan John Edwards 
Triumph1967Persian War 4Jimmy Uttley Brian Swift
Champion Hurdle1968Persian War 5Jimmy Uttley Colin Davies 
Champion Hurdle1969Persian War 6Jimmy Uttley Colin Davies 
Champion Hurdle1970Persian War 7Jimmy Uttley Colin Davies 
Mares2009Quevega 5Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
Mares2010Quevega 6Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
Mares2011Quevega 7Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
Mares2012Quevega 8Ruby Walsh Willie Mullins
Mares2013Quevega9Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
Mares2014Quevega10Ruby WalshWillie Mullins
Cathcart1958Quita Que 9Bunny Cox Dan Moore
Champion Chase1959Quita Que 10Bunny Cox Dan Moore 
Cathcart1961Quita Que 12Willie Robinson Dan Moore
Champion Hurdle1985See You Then 5Steve Smith Eccles Nicky Henderson 
Champion Hurdle1986See You Then 6Steve Smith Eccles Nicky Henderson 
Champion Hurdle1987See You Then 7Steve Smith Eccles Nicky Henderson 
Champion Hurdle1952Sir Ken 5Tim Molony Willie Stephenson 
Champion Hurdle1953Sir Ken 6Tim Molony Willie Stephenson 
Champion Hurdle1954Sir Ken 7Tim Molony Willie Stephenson 
Arkle1956Sir Ken 9Tim Molony Willie Stephenson
Arkle2012Sprinter Sacre6Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
Champion Chase2013Sprinter Sacre7Barry GeraghtyNicky Henderson
Champion Chase2016Sprinter Sacre10Nico De BonvilleNicky Henderson
Cross Country2019Tiger Roll9
Cross Country2018Tiger Roll8Keith DonoghueG Elliott
NH Chase2017Tiger Roll7Lisa O’NeillG Elliott
Triumph Hurdle2014Tiger Roll4D N RussellG Elliott
Supreme2014Vautour5Ruby WalshW P Mullins
JLT2015Vautour6Ruby WalshW P Mullins
Ryanair2016Vautour7Ruby WalshW P Mullins
Neptune1973Willie Wumpkins 5Pat Colville Adrian Maxwell
Pertemps1979Willie Wumpkins 11Mr Jim Wilson Jane Pilkington
Pertemps1980Willie Wumpkins 12Mr Jim Wilson Jane Pilkington
Pertemps1981Willie Wumpkins 13Mr Jim Wilson Jane Pilkington

Do you think we will have new additions to the list in 2017 ?

Share your thoughts on the Cheltenham Festival forum.<< Back to Cheltenham Festival

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Cheltenham 2022 – Thursday Preview

Cheltenham 2022 – Champion Chase Day

Cheltenham 2022 – Gold Cup Day

Cheltenham 2022 – Day 1 Fat Jockey Podcast - Day 1 - with  jono Spectre

Recent Comments