Monday, December 6, 2021
Home News & Stats Kerry National 2020

Kerry National 2020

The Guinness Kerry National is the feature and most valuable race at the Listowel Harvest Festival and for many marks the end of the summer jumping season and the beginning of the Irish National Hunt season proper.

The Kerry National roll of honour includes subsequent Aintree Grand National Winner Montys Pass and Cheltenham Festival Winner Doran’s Pride. Grand National 2016 Winner – Rule the World was third here in 2015

It is run on the Wednesday of the Festival.

Kerry National Stats

  • Gigginstown owned horses have won successive reneals from 2015-2017
  • Alfa Beat and Ponmeoath have been dual winners since 2007
  • Between 2003 and 2011 winners were all aged 8 or younger. The next three bucked this trend but three 7 year olds have won since.
  • Winners have come from both ends of the weights – the bottom weight has won the last two renewals
  • Jockeys enjoying multiple success in the Listowel feature have been Lisa O’Neill the now retired Ruby Walsh (4 wins) and Barry Geraghty (3 Wins).
  • This race is one of a the few big Irish handicaps never won by a JP McManus owned horse
  • Eric McNamara has trained 3 winners since 2007
  • Willie Mullins trained back to back winners in 2005/6 but none since
  • Gordon Elliott has Trained two of the last four winners

Kerry National Winners 1997- 2019

2019Poker Party7Rachael BlackmoreHenry De Bromhead10-513814/1
2018Snow Falcon8J M MooreNoel Meade11-51486/1
2017Potters Point7L O Neill (7)Gordon Elliott10-01398/1
2016Wrath of Titans7L O’Neill (7)Gordon Elliott9-31287-1
2015Rogue Angel7G N Fox (3)Mouse Morris10-41338-1
2014Your Busy11K WalshNash, J9-1212625-1
2013White Star Line9A E LynchHughes D10-413016-1
2012Faltering Fullback9DE MullinsMcNamara, E9-1211733-1
2011Alfa Beat (IRE)7BJ GeraghtyHanlon, J J11-0314820-1
2010Alfa Beat (IRE)6BJ GeraghtyByrnes, C10-101376-1
2009Northern Alliance (IRE)8R WalshMartin, A J11-021404-1
2008Ponmeoath (IRE)8PW FloodMcNamara, E10-051359-1
2007Ponmeoath (IRE)7PW FloodMcNamara, E10-0112714-1
2006Bothar Na (IRE)7R WalshMullins, W P10-1312710-1
2005Euro Leader (IRE)7R WalshMullins, W P12-013311-2
2004Banasan (IRE)6R WalshOBrien, M J P11-01267-1
2003Native Performance (IRE)8T MurphyHourigan, M9-121178-1
2002Montys Pass (IRE)9BJ GeraghtyMangan, J J11-091309-1
2001More Than A Stroll (IRE)9C O’DwyerMoore, A L T10-0612314-1
2000Macs Supreme (IRE)8T MurphyMurphy, F (UK)10-091116-1
1999Lanturn (IRE)9PA CarberryHughes, P9-001287-1
1998Treble Bob (IRE)8JR BarryWeld, D K9-121128-1
1997Dorans Pride (IRE)8R DunwoodyHourigan, M12-005-4

<< Back to Racing Headlines


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Fat Jockey Podcast – Stayers Hurdle

Kev and Paul look forward to the 2022 Cheltenham Festival and start with a look at the Stayers Hurdle won in 2021...

Winning Most Cheltenham Jockeys : Richard Johnson

Richard Johnson is the second winning most National Hunt Jockey of all time with 3,819 career wins. He announced his retirement on...

Minella Indo – Gold Cup 2021

Minella Indo’s victory in the WellChild Cheltenham Gold Cup etched Henry de Bromhead’s name into the history books, as the trainer became...

QUILIXIOS – Leg 3 of Faugheen Machine Multiple

His impressive performance also secured a fifth win of the 2021 Festival™ supporting WellChild for trainer Henry de Bromhead and a third...

Recent Comments