Friday, February 3, 2023
Home Graded Races Ladbrokes Champion Steeplechase 2020

Ladbrokes Champion Steeplechase 2020

The Champion Chase (originally the James Nicholson Wine Merchant Champion Chase) is a Grade 1 event run at Down Royal Racecourse over three miles in late October/early November. It was once a Paul Nicholls benefit but latterly has been dominated by a range of Gigginstown owned horses. Meade and Elliott have trained 6 of the last 7 winners.

The 2020 renewal was won by The Storyteller under jockey Keith Donoghue for trainer Gordon Elliott.

James Nicholson Chase Winners

2019Road to RespectS W FlanaghanNoel Meade81665-2
2018Road to RespectS W FlanaghanNoel Meade71656-4F
2017OutlanderJ W KennedyGordon Elliott916316-1
2016Valseur LidoR WalshHenry De Bromhead71632-1F
2015Don CossackB J CooperGordon Elliott81752-11F
2014Road To RichesP CarberryNoel Meade71609-2
2013Roi Du MeeB J CooperGordon Elliott815412-1
2012Kauto Stone Jacob, DarylNicholls, P F61584-1
2011Quito De La Roque (FR)Russell, D NMurphy, C A715911-4
2010Kauto Star (FR)Walsh, RNicholls, P F101904-7
2009The Listener (IRE)McNamara, A JMitchell, N101707-1
2008Kauto Star (FR)Walsh, RNicholls, P F81802-5
2007Taranis (FR)Walsh, RNicholls, P F615910-11
2006Beef Or Salmon (IRE)McNamara, A JHourigan, M1016711-4
2004Beef Or Salmon (IRE)Murphy, THourigan, M8171Evens
2003Glenelly Gale (IRE)ODwyer, CMoore, A L T91287-1
2002More Than A Stroll (IRE)ODwyer, CMoore, A L T1013820-1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Cheltenham 2022 – Thursday Preview

Cheltenham 2022 – Champion Chase Day

Cheltenham 2022 – Gold Cup Day

Cheltenham 2022 – Day 1 Fat Jockey Podcast - Day 1 - with  jono Spectre

Recent Comments