History of the Race

The Weatherbys Insurance Lonsdale Cup, staged during the Welcome to Yorkshire Ebor Festival at York and the fourth long-distance event of the QIPCO British Champions Series, is clearly a race on the up.

It began as a relatively modest ‘listed race’ but was promoted to Group 3 status in 1998, then to its current classification of Group 2 in 2004. Today it is run over 2 miles and 88 yards (3,280 metres) and is open to three-year-olds and older horses.

Previous winners include Persian Punch, one of horseracing’s most popular stayers who was still racing aged 10, while Pat Eddery had a great record in the race, riding the winner on five victories. The last of those was on a horse called Celeric, one of three horses to win the race on two occasions (the horse was due to be named Celeriac but the name was mis-spelt on the registration papers).

The 2010 race was won by Frankie Dettori on Opinion Poll and the pair returned 12 months later for another success on the Knavesmire.

Current leading jockey: Frankie Dettori, 3 wins (2006, 2010, 2011)
Current leading trainer: John Dunlop, 4 wins (1987, 1994, 1999, 2005)
Previous Winners
Year Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
2011 Opinion Poll Frankie Dettori Mahmood Al Zarooni Godolphin
2010 Opinion Poll Frankie Dettori Michael Jarvis Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum
2009 Askar Tau Ryan Moore Marcus Tregoning Nurlan Bizakov
2008 No race due to waterlogged course
2007 Septimus Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Smith/Magnier/Tabor
2006 Sergeant Cecil Frankie Dettori Rod Millman Terry Cooper
2005 Millenary Richard Quinn John Dunlop Neil Jones
2004 First Charter Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Saeed Suhail
2003 Bollin Eric Kevin Darley Tim Easterby Sir Neil Westbrook
2002 Boreas Jamie Spencer Luca Cumani Aston House Stud
2001 Persian Punch Richard Quinn David Elsworth Jeff Smith
2000 Royal Rebel Michael Kinane Mark Johnston Peter Savill