About the race from the QIPCO British Champion Series Site

History of the Race

Only professional historians will know why the Markel Insurance Nassau Stakes, one of the seven fillies & mares races in the QIPCO British Champions Series, is so called (you’ll need to go back to 1840 to find out – and being Dutch may help). Horseracing aficionados, however, will be well aware of the Group 1 race’s more recent history. The key elements? A chestnut mare called Midday, a jockey called Tom Queally and a trainer called Sir Henry Cecil.

That combination won in 2009, then returned for an action replay in 2010 and completed the hat-trick in 2011 - the first time a mare has triumphed in the race on three occasions. Two other horses – Roussalka in 1975-6 and Ruby Tiger in 1991-2 - have recorded Nassau Stakes doubles.
The Markel Insurance Nassau Stakes, open to fillies and mares aged three years or older, is the feature race on the final day of the Glorious Goodwood meeting.
Current leading jockey: Kieren Fallon, 3 wins (2002, 2003, 2004), Tom Queally (2008, 2009, 2010)
Current leading trainer: Sir Henry Cecil, 8 wins (1975, 1976, 1979, 1987, 1993, 2009, 2010, 2011)
Previous Winners

Year Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
2011 Midday Tom Queally Sir Henry Cecil Khalid Abdulla
2010 Midday Tom Queally Henry Cecil Khalid Abdulla
2009 Midday Tom Queally Henry Cecil Khalid Abdulla
2008 Halfway To Heaven Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Tabor/Smith/Magnier
2007 Peeping Fawn Johnny Murtagh Aidan O’Brien Tabor/Magnier
2006 Ouija Board Frankie Dettori Ed Dunlop Earl of Derby
2005 Alexander Goldrun Kevin Manning Jim Bolger Miriam O’Callaghan
2004 Favourable Terms Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Maktoum Al Maktoum
2003 Russian Rhythm Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Cheveley Park Stud
2002 Islington Kieren Fallon Sir Michael Stoute Exors of Lord Weintstock
2001 Lailani Frankie Dettori Ed Dunlop Maktoum Al Maktoum
2000 Crimplene Phil Robinson Clive Brittain Marwan Al Maktoum