Fat Jockey Racing Tips
  Home   Tipster Challenge   Free Bets     Racing News   Videos & Pictures   Discussion Forum  
  Big Races   Cheltenham Festival 2016      
Grand National Jockeys : Ruby Walsh
Fri, Apr 3rd, 2015

Two Time Grand National Winner

While Paul Moloney's six successive placed finishes is arguably the most impressive performanace sequence by a jockey in the Aintree feature race, Ruby Walsh stands alone as the only current jockey to have won the race on more than one occasion. Multiple winning jockeys of the Grand National are thin on the ground with only Carl Llewellyn and Brian Fletcher winning the race on more than one occasion since 1970.

Ruby Walsh Grand National Record

Ruby has had eleven rides in the race and finished on 10 occasions. He actually pulled up Shotgun Willy in 2003 and had not fallen during the race until parting company with On His Own in 2013. His 9 completions resulted in 2 wins and 4 placed finishes.

Ruby Walsh's Grand National Stats :


2001 Papillon 4th

2002 Kingsmark 4th

2003 Shotgun Willy PU 22nd


2006 Hedgehunter 2nd

2007 Hedgehunter 9th

2008 Hedgehunter 13th

2009 My Will 3rd

2011 The Midnight Club 6th

2013 On His Own FELL

About Ruby Walsh

Born: May 14, 1979

Background: Ruby (short for Rupert) is now solely based in Ireland with champion trainer Willie Mullins, having ended his hugely successful 10 and a half year association with Paul Nicholls in May, 2013. He is the son of 11-times Irish amateur champion jockey, Ted Walsh, now a trainer. Ruby is the second of Walsh's four children and his younger sister Katie is a successful amateur. He followed in his father's footsteps when capturing the Irish amateur riders' championship (1996-97) at the age of 19 while still studying for his Leaving Certificate. He was crowned champion Irish National Hunt jockey in his first season as a professional (1998/99) and has taken the title a further eight times (2000/2001, 2004/05, 2005/06, 2006/07, 2007/08, 2008/09, 2009/10 & 2013/14).

First Winner: Siren Song, Gowran Park, July 25, 1995

Aintree Festival Wins include: Aintree Hurdle (2002 Ilnamar, 2003 Sacundai, 2006 Asian Maze, 2013 Zarkandar), Betfred Bowl (2010 What A Friend),Liverpool Hurdle (2012, 2011, 2010 & 2009 Big Buck's), Top Novices' Hurdle (2008 Pierrot Lunaire), Crabbie's Topham Chase (2008 Gwanako),Crabbie's Grand National (2000 Papillon (His first National ride), 2005 Hedgehunter), Melling Chase (2011 Master Minded), Manifesto Novices' Chase (2015 Clarcam) Mildmay Novices' Chase (2008 Big Buck's, 2012 Silviniaco Conti), Maghull Novices' Chase (2003 Le Roi Miguel, 2007 Twist Magic, 2010 Tataniano), Anniversary 4-Y-O Hurdle (2003 Le Duc, 2011 Zarkandar), Mersey Novices' Hurdle (2004 Garde Champetre, 2006 Natal, 2008 Elusive Dream)

Cheltenham Festival Wins (45): Fred Winter Juvenile Handicap Hurdle (2010 Sanctuaire), Ladbrokes World Hurdle (2009, 2010, 2011 & 2012 Big Buck's), OLBG Mares Hurdle (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 & 2014 Quevega), Neptune Investment Management Novices' Hurdle (2008 Fiveforthree, 2009 Mikael D'Haguenet, 2014 Faugheen), JCB Triumph Hurdle (2008 Celestial Halo), Weatherbys Champion Bumper (1998 Alexander Banquet, 2005 Missed That, 2013 Briar Hill), Brown Advisory & Merribelle Stable Plate (2002 Blowing Wind), Racing Post Arkle (2003 Azertyuiop), Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase (2004 Azertyuiop, 2008 & 2009 Master Minded), A P McCoy Grand Annual Chase (2004 St Pirran), Vincent O'Brien County Hurdle (2004 Sporazene, 2006 Desert Quest, 2009 American Trilogy, 2011 Final Approach), Ryanair Chase (2005 Thisthatandtother, 2007 Taranis), Sky Bet Supreme Novices' Hurdle (2006 Noland, 2010 Al Ferof, 2013 Champagne Fever, 2014 Vautour, 2015 Douvan), Ultima Business Solutions Handicap Chase (2006 Dun Doire), RSA Chase (2007 Denman, 2009 Cooldoine), Betfred Cheltenham Gold Cup (2007 & 2009 Kauto Star), Stan James Champion Hurdle (2011 & 2013 Hurricane Fly, 2015 Faugheen), Racing Post Arkle (2015 Un De Sceaux), JLT Novices' Chase (2015 Vautour) 1,000th Winner in Ireland: Rare Article, Smirnoff (Mares) Maiden Hurdle, Thurles, May 4, 2008 (became only the second jockey to complete the feat after Charlie Swan)

Number of Wins in Britain (1998/99-2013/14): 1; 1; 5; 13; 77; 62; 81; 69; 73; 69; 69; 69; 26; 55; 57; 7

Wins in Britain this season: 12

Ruby Walsh 2015 Grand National Ride

Ruby is expected to ride Ballycasey for trainer Willie Mullins in the 2015 race.

Papillion 2000 Grand National Winner

Double click on this link to go to youtube and watch the 2010 race video.

Hedgehunter 2005 Grand National Winner

Double click to watch:

Grand National Thursday

9 April 2015

Aintree Ladies Day

10 April 2015

Grand National Saturday

11 April 2015

Anniversary Juvenile Hurdle Stats

Top Novices Hurdle Stats

Mersey Novices Hurdle Stats

Betfred Bowl Chase Stats

Mildmay Novices Chase Stats

Maghull Novices Chase Stats

Aintree Hurdle Stats

Melling Chase Stats

Liverpool Hurdle Stats

Foxhunters Chase ( National Fences) Stats

Topham Chase (National Fences) stats

3m1f Handicap Chase Stats

Red Rum Handicap Chase Stats

Sefton Novices Hurdle Stats

Crabbies Grand National Stats

Manifesto Novices Chase Stats

2m 4f Handicap Hurdle Stats

Conditional Jockeys Hurdle Stats

3m Handicap Hurdle Stats

Mares Bumper Stats

Aintree Bumper Stats

<< Back to Racing Festival News