Fat Jockey Racing Tips
  Home   Tipster Challenge   Free Bets     Racing News   Videos & Pictures   Discussion Forum  
  Big Races   Cheltenham Festival 2016      
Arkle Challenge Trophy Stats 2019
Mon, Feb 11th, 2019

Un De Sceaux gave Ruby Walsh a welcome Festival Chase winner in this race in 2015 and he has followed up twice since on Douvan and Footpad. 

Arkle Challenge Trophy Stats 2008-2018

Arkle Trophy Chase Winners 2008-2018

Arkle Challenge Trophy Chase Trivia

The late David Johnson is the most succesful owner with four winners - Or Royal (1997), Champleve (1998), Well Chief (2004) and Contraband (2005).

Tom Dreaper is the joint most successful trainer of all time with five victories - Fortria (1958), Mountcashel King (1961), Ben Stack (1963), Flyingbolt (1965) and Alpheus (1971).Nicky Henderson equaled Dreaper's record in 2013 he currently has trained Remittance Man (1991), Travado (1993), Tiutchev (2000), Sprinter Sacre (2012) and Simonsig (2013) .

The most successful jockey is Barry Geraghty with 4 wins. Glen Kelly, Pat Taaffe, Jamie Osborne, and A P (Tony) McCoy are jockeys with three wins each.The longest-priced winner was Gala's Image, successful at 25/1 in 1987.

The shortest-priced winner came in 2013 when Simonsig was returned at 8/15. In 2012 Sprinter Sacre was returned at 8/11. In the 66 runnings since 1946, a total of 16 favourites (24 per cent) have prevailed.

The overall breakdown by age of winners since 1945 is 5yo - 14 wins, 6yo - 19 wins, 7yo - 19 wins, 8yo - 12 wins, 9yo - 2 wins

The nine year old winners were Sir Ken (1956) and Danish Flight (1988).

Alverton is the only horse to have won both the Racing Post Arkle Chase and Betfred Cheltenham Gold Cup.

The race is a good pointer to the Queen Mother Champion Chase with the following Arkle winners doubling up;  2012 Sprinter Sacre ( Champion Chase Winner 2013), 2010 Sizing Europe (Champion Chase winner 2011), 2006 Voy Por Ustedes (Champion Chase winner 2007), 2003 Azertyuiop ( Champion Chase winner 2004), 2002 Moscow Flyer (Champion Chase winner 2003 & 2005),1999 Flagship Uberalles (Champion Chase winner 2002), 1995 Klairon Davis (Champion Chase winner 1996), 1991 Remittance Man (Champion Chase winner 1992)

<< Back to Cheltenham Festival