Fat Jockey Racing Tips
  Home   Tipster Challenge   Free Bets     Racing News   Videos & Pictures   Discussion Forum  
  Big Races   Cheltenham Festival 2016      
2017 Champion Hurdle Stats
Sat, Sep 17th, 2016

Annie Mullins was a super sub for Willie Mullins in 2016 following up his 1-2-3 in 2015 with Faugheen, Artic Fire and Hurricane Fly.


Champion Hurdle Stats

Prep Races

Previous Cheltenham Festival form (not necessarily winning) has been shown by a host of recent winners. Only Hurricane Fly and Sublimity have won without a first three finish at the previous Festival since Make Stand won as a Novice in 1997.

5 of the last 13 winners ran in the first 3 of the previous years Champion Hurdle, 3 winners finished in first 3 in the Neptune, with Katchit and Rooster Booster winning the previous years Triumph and County Hurdles respectively. Jezki had been third in the 2013 Supreme Novices Hurdle.

  • 10 of the last 13 winners won their prep race
  • 8/12 had won a Grade 1 or Grade 2 Hurdle during the season
  • 11/13 ran between 24 and 51 days beforehand
  • 9/12 had run between 10 and 20 times over hurdles
  • 10/12 reappeared before the New Year
  • 9/12 ran in either the Kempton Christmas Hurdle or Leopardstown Ryanair Hurdle

Age Stats

  • 10/12 were aged between 6 and 8
  • In 2013 Hurricane Fly became only the third 9 year old winners since Sea Pigeon in 1982 ( the other was Rooster Booster in 2003)
  • There has only been one five year old winner ( Katchit ) since See You Then in 1985

Jockey/Trainer Stats

  • Ruby Walsh and Willie Mullins are 4 time winners in the last decade
  • Barry Geraghty and Tony McCoy have all won the race twice in the last decade
  • Nicky Henderson has trained the winner twice since 2005

Champion Hurdle Winners 2007-2016

Champion Hurdle Trivia

  • Ruby Walsh is the jockey currently racing with most race wins (4)
  • Retired Champ AP McCoy's was also a 3 time winner . His Champion Hurdle wins were on Binocular (2010), Brave Inca (2006) and Make A Stand (1997)
  • The Martin Pipe trained Make A Stand won the race as a novice - there is more here
  • The other jockey with most race wins is Tim Molony - he won the race four times in a row from 1951 to 1954
  • Three of Tim Molony's win came on Sir Ken ( 1952-154)
  • Other three time Champion Hurdle winners are Istrabraq (1998-2000), See You Then (1985-1987), Persian War (1968-70) and Hatton's Grace ( 1949-51)
  • See You Then's trainer Nicky Henderson is joint leading trainer on 5 wins with Peter Easterby
  • Henderson's other winners were on Punjabi (2009) and Binocular (2010)

Cheltenham Festival Race Stats and Trends

<< Back to Cheltenham Festival